The Final Day of Christmas

Okay, it’s the last day of December so I think it’s a little late to convince myself I can keep up with Steph’s 12 Days of Christmas Blogging Challenge. As fun as it was, I let life get in the way a little. But I refuse to leave it unfinished, so I have decided to fit the remaining posts into one!

So, to pick up where I left off…

Day 4: Share a Christmas story, or write one of your own.

One step ahead. To read my Christmas story, click here!

Day 5: What is on your personal wishlist this year?

As cliché as it sounds, my personal Christmas wish, as always, was to just have a very happy Christmas surrounded by loved ones, and it came true!

Day 6: Share a fond childhood Christmas memory.

Once the Christmas tree had been put up and was adorned with all of its decorations, I would then proceed to take off my favourite decorations, give them personalities, and play with them. My favourite was a gold ballerina in arabesque, because I could make it look like she was flying. And if I was told to put the decorations back on the tree, I would just get the nearest snow globe and play with that instead! I remember just sitting on the armchair, staring into one that contained a Father Christmas and a reindeer, and imagining what they did inside their snow globe all day. To look at me, it probably didn’t look like I was having much fun, but I can assure you I was.

Day 7: Share some Christmas pictures, past or present.

From left to right: Lovely Christmas lights in my hometown.  Thor’s Christmas tipi bar.  A note left from a child on the ‘message to Santa tree’ near where I live.  Mine and my housemates’ attempt at a student Christmas meal, with the ketchup smack bang in the middle of the table because we’re a classy bunch.  A festive chocolate orange hot chocolate, the recipe for which can be found here.  And I said I would include my Christmas jumper somewhere, and here it is in an appalling photo from last year. And yes, you’re right, it does say ‘Merry Christamas,’ because I bought it off the market stalls without checking it twice.

Day 8: Share a local Christmas tradition in your town or country.

I don’t think this is something particular to England, but my favourite Christmas tradition as a child was to leave my letter to Santa on the fireplace on Christmas Eve, along with a plate of mince pies, and a carrot for his reindeer.

Day 9: Who will be sitting with you for Christmas dinner?

My mum, dad, and brother sat with me at Christmas, and we wore the ridiculous cracker party hats throughout the entire meal.

Day 10: Share your favourite Christmas movie or song.

How about both?

Favourite Christmas Movie: Love Actually.

Favourite Christmas Song: Fairytale of New York, by The Pogues featuring Kirsty MacColl. I still have trouble singing along though.

Day 11: What was your favourite childhood Christmas present?

A particular favourite Christmas present of mine as a child was a doll that had a blank face. Along with it came a variety of ink stamps in the shapes of facial features that you could print onto the doll’s face in different colours, to design her just the way you liked. Thinking back now, it sounds unbelievably creepy, and has been noted down as a story idea 😀

Day 12: What are you grateful for this Christmas?

I am rather soppy, so I will have to say what I am grateful for the most this Christmas is my loved ones. My parents, for always supporting me and encouraging me to carry on, even when things are difficult. My brother, for listening to me and hugging me when needed. My friends, for being there to make me smile, for continuing to put up with me, and for teasing me whenever they got the opportunity 🙂 This almost turned into an Oscar acceptance speech didn’t it?

Thanks for reading, I hope you had a lovely Christmas!

Leave a Reply

